Canadian Municipal Barometer

A new partnership to generate high-quality data and rigorous analysis of Canadian municipal democracy and public policy.

The Canadian Municipal Barometer is an annual survey of mayors and councillors in more than 400 municipalities across Canada that will provide new insights for academic researchers, municipal policymakers, and the general public. The project is generously supported by a SSHRC Partnership Development Grant and by contributions from our institutional partners.

UC-vert-black
INRS-Logo-institutionnel_horizontal-Noir
Manitoba
MUN_Logo_bw--800
university-of-toronto-logo
Samara
FCM full

2020 Survey

The first annual Canadian Municipal Barometer survey will be distributed to mayors and councillors across Canada early in 2020. We will publish a series of reports and analyses -- including a municipal policy report, a municipal democracy checkup, and customized reports for participating municipalities -- shortly after the survey is complete. Please check back later in 2019 for more information about what to expect from the first survey.

Research Team

Lucas

Jack Lucas

University of Calgary

 

Jack Lucas (Project Director) is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Calgary. His research is focused on Canadian urban politics and policy, with a particular focus on the historical development and present-day practice of municipal democracy. His publications include articles in Canadian Journal of Political Science, Canadian Public Administration, Urban Affairs Review, and Journal of Urban Affairs, as well as a book published in 2016 by University of Toronto Press.

arntfield

Jen Arntfield

Federation of Canadian Municipalities

 

Jen Arntfield is Manager of Policy and Research at the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, where she is a national leader in developing policy positions and research projects related to the Canadian municipal sector. She has extensive experience in Canadian municipal policymaking and connections to practitioners in the municipal sector across Canada. Prior to joining FCM, Jen led affordable housing policy and strategy at the City of Calgary and was a Manager at Deloitte Consulting Canada.

Blidook_small

Kelly Blidook

Memorial University


Kelly Blidook is an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science at Memorial University. His research focuses on representation, responsiveness, and Canadian legislative behaviour. His publications include articles in Canadian Journal of Political Science and Legislative Studies Quarterly, as well as Representation in Action, a new book on Canadian political representation published by UBC Press.

Breux_Sandra

Sandra Breux

INRS

 

Sandra Breux is an Associate Professor at the Centre Culture Urbanisation Société of the INRS (Institut national de la recherche scientifique). Her research is focused on Canadian municipal politics, with a special focus on municipal accountability and responsiveness, municipal public policy, and municipal elections and voting behaviour. Her published research includes articles in Canadian Journal of Political Science, Environment and Planning C, and a recent edited volume, Accountability and Responsiveness at the Municipal Level, published in 2018 by McGill-Queen's University Press.

Eidelman

Gabriel Eidelman

University of Toronto

 

Gabriel Eidelman is Director of the Urban Policy Lab at the University of Toronto. His research is focused on Canadian and comparative urban policy and intergovernmental relations, and the politics of public land ownership. His academic publications include articles in Canadian Journal of Political Science, Journal of Urban Affairs, and Urban Affairs Review. He is also the author of several reports and briefings on urban governance and municipal administration, and recently led the University of Toronto's City Hall Task Force.

KoopR

Royce Koop

University of Manitoba

 

Royce Koop is an Associate Professor and Head of the Department of Political Studies at the University of Manitoba. His research focuses on political representation, political parties, and local government in Canada. His academic publications include articles in Canadian Journal of Political Science and Urban Affairs Review on municipal political representation in Canada, as well as articles in American Journal of Political Science and Representation. His most recent book, Representation in Action, was published by UBC Press in 2018.

Michael-Morden-New

Michael Morden

Samara Canada

 

Michael Morden is Research Director at the Samara Centre for Democracy, where he is responsible for leading the Samara Centre's program of research on Canadian democracy and contributing to its mission of asking critical questions, producing new evidence, and linking knowledge to action. Michael holds a PhD in political science from the University of Toronto; along with numerous reports and briefings, he has published articles in Canadian Journal of Political Science, Canadian Public Administration, and Nations and Nationalism.

Advisory Committee

ivacko-tom

Thomas Ivacko

University of Michigan

Thomas Ivacko is Associate Director of the Center for Local, State, and Urban Policy (CLOSUP) at the University of Michigan, where he oversees the Center's annual Michigan Public Policy Survey. Prior to joining CLOSUP, he was study manager and program manager for the American National Election Study. Thomas is an expert on survey design and administration with extensive practical experience in elite and public opinion survey research.

EinsteinMarquetteLawReview5-e1421334533763

Katherine Einstein

Boston University

Katherine Einstein is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science at Boston University and one of the principal investigators of the Menino Survey of Mayors, a large annual survey of American mayors. She is an accomplished scholar of municipal democracy and public policy, with recent publications in journals including the American Journal of Political Science, Perspectives on Politics, Political Research Quarterly, and Urban Affairs Review, as well as a forthcoming book Neighborhood Defenders: Participatory Politics and America's Housing Crisis (Cambridge University Press).

Loewen

Peter Loewen

University of Toronto

Peter Loewen is a Professor in the Department of Political Science and the Munk School at the University of Toronto. His research focuses on elite and citizen behaviour in Canadian and comparative contexts. He is a leader in innovative survey design and data analysis in both public opinion and elite survey research in Canada. His publications on public and elite political behaviour include articles in American Journal of Political Science, American Political Science Review, British Journal of Political Science, and Canadian Journal of Political Science.

sancton

Andrew Sancton

Western University

Andrew Sancton is Professor Emeritus of Political Science at Western University, and is Canada's leading expert on municipal politics and policy. His research interests span municipal democracy, public policy, municipal governance, and municipal institutional reform, and he is the author of Canadian Local Government: An Urban Perspective, a leading textbook on Canadian municipal government. His many publications include articles in Canadian Journal of Political Science and Urban Affairs Review, as well as The Limits of Boundaries, published in 2008 by McGill-Queen's University Press.

Enid_Slack

Enid Slack

University of Toronto

Enid Slack is Director of the Institute on Municipal Finance and Governance, Canada's leading research institute on municipal finance, governance, and public policy at the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the University of Toronto. She consults on municipal finance and governance issues with governments and international agencies such as the World Bank, IMF, UN Habitat, Asian Development Bank, the Inter-American Development Bank, and the International Growth Centre (at Oxford and LSE). Enid has published numerous books and articles on urban public finance. Recent publications include Financing Infrastructure: Who Should Pay? and Is Your City Healthy? Measuring Urban Fiscal Health.

News

CMB wins SSHRC Partnership Development Grant

We are delighted to announce that our application for a SSHRC Partnership Development Grant to support the Canadian Municipal Barometer was successful! We are grateful for SSHRC and our seven institutional partners for their generous support.

sshrc1

Le Baromètre municipal du Canada

Un nouveau partenariat pour collecter des données de grande qualité et analyser rigoureusement la démocratie municipale et les politiques publiques canadiennes.

Le Baromètre municipal du Canada est un sondage annuel fait auprès de maires et de conseillers municipaux œuvrant dans plus de 400 municipalités canadiennes, qui offrira des nouvelles informations sur la démocratie municipale aux chercheurs universitaires, aux décideurs politiques municipaux et au grand public. Le projet bénéficie d’une subvention de développement de partenariat du CRSH et de généreuses contributions de ses partenaires institutionnels.

UC-vert-black
INRS-Logo-institutionnel_horizontal-Noir
Manitoba
MUN_Logo_bw--800
university-of-toronto-logo
Samara
FCM full

Sondage 2020

Le premier sondage annuel du Baromètre municipal du Canada sera distribué aux maires et aux conseillers municipaux du Canada au début de 2020. Nous publierons une série de rapports et d'analyses - y compris un rapport sur la politique municipale, un bilan de la démocratie municipale et des rapports personnalisés pour les municipalités participantes - peu après la fin de l'enquête. Nous vous invitons à visiter notre site web plus tard en 2019 pour en savoir plus sur la première enquête qui sera menée.

Équipe de recherche

Lucas

Jack Lucas

Université de Calgary

 

Jack Lucas (directeur de projet) est professeur adjoint au Département de science politique de l'Université de Calgary. Ses recherches portent sur la vie politique et les politiques urbaines canadiennes, en particulier sur l'évolution historique et sur la pratique actuelle de la démocratie municipale. Il a publié des articles dans la Revue canadienne de science politique, dans la Revue d'administration publique du Canada, dans la Urban Affairs Review et dans le Journal of Urban Affairs, en plus d’un livre, paru en 2016, aux Presses de l’Université de Toronto.

arntfield

Jen Arntfield

Fédération canadienne des municipalités

 

Jen Arntfield est gestionnaire des politiques et de la recherche à la Fédération canadienne des municipalités, où elle est une chef de file nationale dans le développement de positions stratégiques et de projets de recherche liés au secteur municipal canadien. Elle possède une vaste expérience dans l’élaboration de politiques municipales canadiennes et des contacts avec des praticiens du milieu partout au Canada. Avant de se joindre à la FCM, Jen était responsable de la politique et de la stratégie en matière de logement abordable de la Ville de Calgary et gestionnaire chez Deloitte Canada.

Blidook_small

Kelly Blidook

Université Memorial

 

Kelly Blidook est professeur agrégé au Département de science politique de l'Université Memorial. Ses recherches portent sur la représentation, la réceptivité et le comportement législatif canadien. Il a publié, entre autres, des articles dans la Revue canadienne de science politique et dans Legislative Studies Quarterly, ainsi qu’un livre sur la représentation politique canadienne intitulé Representation in Action, récemment paru aux Presses de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique.

Breux_Sandra

Sandra Breux

INRS

 

Sandra Breux est professeure agrégée au Centre Culture Urbanisation Société de l'INRS (Institut national de la recherche scientifique). Ses recherches portent sur la politique municipale canadienne, plus particulièrement sur la responsabilité et la réceptivité des municipalités, les politiques publiques municipales, les élections municipales et le comportement électoral. Elle a publié des articles dans la Revue canadienne de science politique et dans Environment and Planning C. De plus, elle a dirigé la publication d’un ouvrage collectif intitulé Accountability and Responsiveness at the Municipal Level, paru en 2018 chez McGill-Queen's University Press.

Eidelman

Gabriel Eidelman

Université de Toronto

 

Gabriel Eidelman est directeur du Laboratoire sur les politiques urbaines de l'Université de Toronto. Ses recherches portent sur les politiques urbaines et les relations intergouvernementales canadiennes et comparées, ainsi que sur les politiques en matière de propriété foncière publique. Ses publications universitaires comprennent des articles dans la Revue canadienne de science politique, dans le Journal of Urban Affairs et dans la Urban Affairs Review. Il est également l'auteur de plusieurs rapports et documents d'information sur la gouvernance urbaine et l'administration municipale. Il a récemment dirigé le groupe de travail de l'Université de Toronto portant sur l'hôtel de ville de Toronto.

KoopR

Royce Koop

Université du Manitoba

 

Royce Koop est professeur agrégé et directeur du Département d'études politiques de l'Université du Manitoba. Ses recherches portent sur la représentation politique, les partis politiques et les administrations locales au Canada. Ses publications universitaires incluent des articles sur la représentation politique municipale au Canada dans la Revue canadienne de science politique et dans la Urban Affairs Review, ainsi que des articles dans l'American Journal of Political Science and Representation. Son livre le plus récent, Representation in Action, a été publié par les Presses de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 2018.

Michael-Morden-New

Michael Morden

Le Centre Samara pour la démocratie

 

Michael Morden est directeur de la recherche au Centre Samara pour la démocratie, où il dirige le programme de recherche sur la démocratie canadienne et contribue à la mission de l’organisme, à savoir poser des questions cruciales, fournir de nouvelles données probantes et mettre en pratique les connaissances issues de la recherche. Titulaire d'un doctorat en science politique de l'Université de Toronto, Michael a publié de nombreux rapports et documents d'information, ainsi que des articles dans la Revue canadienne de science politique, dans Administration publique du Canada et dans Nations and Nationalism.

Comité consultatif

ivacko-tom

Thomas Ivacko

Université du Michigan

Thomas Ivacko est directeur adjoint du Center for Local, State, and Urban Policy (CLOSUP) de l'Université du Michigan, où il supervise le sondage annuel du centre sur la politique publique du Michigan. Avant de se joindre à CLOSUP, il a été responsable, puis gestionnaire, pour l’étude nationale américaine sur les élections. Thomas est un spécialiste de la conception et de la réalisation de sondages, possédant une vaste expérience dans le domaine de la recherche sur les sondages d'opinion publique et auprès des élites.

EinsteinMarquetteLawReview5-e1421334533763

Katherine Einstein

Université de Boston

Katherine Einstein est professeure adjointe au Département de science politique de l'Université de Boston et l'une des chercheuses principales de l'enquête Menino Survey of Mayors, une vaste enquête annuelle sur les maires américains. Elle est une chercheuse éminente sur la démocratie municipale et les politiques publiques, dont les récents articles ont été publiés dans des revues comme l'American Journal of Political Science, Perspectives on Politics, Political Research Quarterly et Urban Affairs Review. Elle publiera prochainement un livre intitulé Neighborhood Defenders : Participatory Politics and America's Housing Crisis aux Presses de l’Université de Cambridge.

Loewen

Peter Loewen

Université de Toronto

Peter Loewen est professeur au Département de science politique et à l'École Munk de l'Université de Toronto. Ses recherches portent sur le comportement des élites et des citoyens dans des contextes canadiens et comparés. Il est un leader dans la conception novatrice de sondages et dans l'analyse de données, dans le cadre de sondages d'opinion publique et auprès des élites au Canada. Ses articles sur le comportement politique de la population et des élites sont parus dans l’American Journal of Political Science, dans l’American Political Science Review, dans le British Journal of Political Science et dans la Revue canadienne de science politique.

sancton

Andrew Sancton

Université de Western Ontario

Andrew Sancton est professeur émérite de science politique à l'Université de Western Ontario et le plus grand spécialiste canadien de la vie politique et des politiques municipales. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la démocratie municipale, les politiques publiques, la gouvernance municipale et la réforme des institutions municipales. Il est l'auteur de Canadian Local Government: An Urban Perspective, un manuel prépondérant sur l'administration municipale canadienne. Ses nombreuses publications comprennent des articles dans la Revue canadienne de science politique et dans la Urban Affairs Review, ainsi que le livre The Limits of Boundaries, publié en 2008 par McGill-Queen's University Press.

Enid_Slack

Enid Slack

Université de Toronto

Enid Slack est directrice de l'Institute on Municipal Finance and Governance, le principal institut de recherche canadien sur les finances municipales, la gouvernance et les politiques publiques à l’École Munk des affaires internationales de l'Université de Toronto. Elle est consultante auprès de gouvernements et d’organismes internationaux tels que la Banque mondiale, le FMI, ONU-Habitat, la Banque asiatique de développement, la Banque interaméricaine de développement et le Centre international pour la croissance (à Oxford et à la London School of Economics) au sujet des enjeux reliés aux finances et à la gouvernance municipales. Enid a publié de nombreux livres et articles sur les finances publiques urbaines. Parmi ses récentes publications, mentionnons Financing Infrastructure: Who Should Pay? et Is Your City Healthy? Measuring Urban Fiscal Health.

Actualités

Le Baromètre municipal du Canada obtient une subvention de développement de partenariat du CRSH

Nous sommes heureux d'annoncer que notre demande de subvention de développement de partenariat soumise au CRSH pour soutenir le Baromètre municipal du Canada a été retenue! Nous remercions le CRSH et nos sept partenaires institutionnels pour leur généreux soutien.

sshrc1